NAEB Newsletter (June 1943)

Record Details:

Something wrong or inaccurate about this page? Let us Know!

Thanks for helping us continually improve the quality of the Lantern search engine for all of our users! We have millions of scanned pages, so user reports are incredibly helpful for us to identify places where we can improve and update the metadata.

Please describe the issue below, and click "Submit" to send your comments to our team! If you'd prefer, you can also send us an email to with your comments.

We use Optical Character Recognition (OCR) during our scanning and processing workflow to make the content of each page searchable. You can view the automatically generated text below as well as copy and paste individual pieces of text to quote in your own work.

Text recognition is never 100% accurate. Many parts of the scanned page may not be reflected in the OCR text output, including: images, page layout, certain fonts or handwriting.

NAE8 NEWS LETTER Page 2 June I, 1943 discs. While prepared primarily for sale in connection with commercials ON COMMERCIAL STATIONS, THE SERIES MAY BE USEFUL TO NAEB STATIONS, TOO. Discs were made for sponsorship so that a governmental agency voijldn’t have TO ASK FOR MORE TIME FROM STATIONS, BUT UPON INQUIRY OF NA£B EXECUTIVE Secretary, *,r. Gray explained the programs would be made available to NAEB. PEABODY AWARDS COh>?-.: 1 TTEES To aid the George Foster Peabody Radio Awards Board in its an ual selections, LISTENING POST COMMITTEES ARE BEING SET UP IN INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARN¬ ING throughout the United States, according to Dean John E„ Drewry, Henry W. Grady School of Journalism, the University of Geofgia, which, with the National Association of Broaocastefs administers these ’’Pulitzer prizes of the air.” Institutions that have already set up such committees, which will function through the office of the dean of the Grady School, are the state universi¬ ties of California, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, New JErSEY (Rutgers), Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. The George Foster Peabody Radio Awards ate designed to give educational RECOGNITION AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO THE BROADCASTING INDUSTRY, AND TO PERPETU¬ ATE THE MEMORY OF THE BENEFACTOR AND LIFE TRUSTEE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CeORGIA. The personnel of the Committees include: The University of Illinois: F. So S|EBERT, DIRECTOR OF THE SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM, CHAIRMAN; FRANK E. SCHOOLEY, INSTRUCTOR &N JOURNALISM AND PROGRAM DIRECTOR OF RADIO STATION WILL; Lanson F. De iming, Director of ^usic for Radio Station WILL; George Jennings, acting director, Radio Council, Board of Education, Chicago; and Albert Crews, director Radio Department, School of Speech, Northwestern University, Evanston. The State University of Iowa: Wilbur L 0 Schramm, director of the School of Journalism, chairman; Charles L. Sanders, assistant professor of journalism; H. Clay Harshbarger, associate professor of speech; Mrs. Pearl Bennet Broxam, program director of Station WSUIj Carl H. Menzer, Director of Station WSU I and associate professor of electrical engineering. The Univetsity of Kentucky: Leonaro Niel Plummer, Hr ad of the Department of Journalism and director of student publications, chairman; Maurice F e Seay, Bureau of School Service and head, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education; and Elmer G 0 Sulzer, director of public relations. The University of Minnesota: Dr. Ralph D c Casey, director of the School of Joutnalism, chairman; Mitchell V c Charnley, professor of Journalism-Burton Paulu, manager of University Radio Station WLB; and Tracy F. Tyler, College of Education. The University of North Dakota: Arnold F. Cecka, head, Department of Journalism, chairman; John S. Penn, assistant professor of public speaking; Donald J. Robertson, assistant to the president, English faculty; Richard