What shocked the censors! (1933)

Record Details:

Something wrong or inaccurate about this page? Let us Know!

Thanks for helping us continually improve the quality of the Lantern search engine for all of our users! We have millions of scanned pages, so user reports are incredibly helpful for us to identify places where we can improve and update the metadata.

Please describe the issue below, and click "Submit" to send your comments to our team! If you'd prefer, you can also send us an email to mhdl@commarts.wisc.edu with your comments.

We use Optical Character Recognition (OCR) during our scanning and processing workflow to make the content of each page searchable. You can view the automatically generated text below as well as copy and paste individual pieces of text to quote in your own work.

Text recognition is never 100% accurate. Many parts of the scanned page may not be reflected in the OCR text output, including: images, page layout, certain fonts or handwriting.

NATIONAL COUNCIL ON FREEDOM FROM CENSORSHIP (Organized by the American Civil Liberties Union) Chairman Treasurer Hatcher Hughes Harry Elmer Barnes Vice-chairmen Secretary Barrett H. Clark Gordon W. Moss Fannie Hurst Elmer Rice NATIONAL COMMITTEE Helen Arthur Bruce Bliven Louise Stevens Bryant Witter Bynner James Branch Cabell Henry Seidel Canby Edward Childs Carpenter Marc Connelly Mary Ware Dennett Walter Pritchard Eaton Morris L. Ernst Paul Green Louis I. Harris Arthur Garfield Hays Theresa Helburn B. W. Huebsch Sidney Howard Rupert Hughes Inez Haynes Irwin Dorothy Kenyon Kenneth Macgowan H. L. Mencken Lewis Mumford Henry Raymond Mussey George Jean Nathan Rabbi Louis I. Newman Eugene O'Neill Maxwell E. Perkins G. Shearman Peterkin Llewelyn Powys Aaron J. Rosanoff Robert E. Sherwood Claire Sifton Paul Sifton Harry Weinberger Stewart Edward White Ira S. Wile Harry Leon Wilson